Skip to main content
Travel Alerts
View more

Travel Alerts

Official Travel Information

The United States announced restrictions on new visa applications in Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. The restrictions do not apply to anyone with an existing visa that allows them to travel to and apply for entry in the United States. No existing visas will be revoked. The visa category and type of visa applicant that may be affected as well as the exemptions available vary by country. 

More detailed information on the impact on visa applications in each of the seven countries is available here.

Additional information, including background, country-specific explanations, and FAQs is available here

For the most up-to-date information regarding U.S. entry and visa policy, Brand USA encourages all travelers to refer to the following resources provided by the U.S. government as they make their travel arrangements and prior to embarking on a trip to the USA.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection:

U.S. Department of State:

In addition, the U.S. embassy or consulate in the traveler’s country of residence can provide specific information about visa and entry policy for travelers from those markets. More information about contacting the nearest U.S. embassy or consulate is available at

Official list of embassies from the U.S. Department of State

The mission of the United States Embassy is to advance the interests of the United States, and to serve and protect U.S. citizens.